CAF is the administrative and controlling body for African football. CAF represents all national football associations of all African countries. It runs Continental, National, Club competitions and controls the prize money, regulations and media rights to those competitions.

CAF was established on 8th February 1957 at the Grand hotel in Khartoum Sudan by Egyptian, Ethiopian, South African and Sudanese Football Associations. Its first Headquarters was situated in Khartoum in Sudan for some months and later moved to Cairo, Egypt

Youssef Mohamad was the 1st general secretary and Abdel Aziz Abdallah Salel the President. Since 2002 the administrative center has been located in Cairo, Egypt.

CAF currently has 56 member associations of which 54 are full members while Zanzibar and Reunion are associate members.

The main competition for Men’s national teams AFCON (Africa Cup Of Nations) was started in 1957. This same competition is also organized for women in the name of Africa women Cup Of Nations.

CAF also runs two main club competitions in Africa that is CAF Champions League since 1964 and CAF Confederation Cup for national cup winners and highly placed teams launched in 2004 as a successor to the Africa Cup Winners’ Cup which begun in 1975

Algeria are the defending champions of AFCON after defeating Senegal by 1:0 thanks to Baghdad Bounedjah who scored in the 2nd minute at the Cairo International Stadium in Egypt.

The next edition of AFCON will be held in January 2022 and the favorites for this competition are currently Senegal who ranks above all African nations according to FIFA and of course the other favorite is Algeria who are the defending champions. Cameroon being the official host of the competition according to CAF, they also stand a chance to be looked at as favorites due to the home advantage

Uganda Games 

18 January


22 January


26 January