There is no doubt that every single football team in Europe has as their top priority the achievement of winning either the Champions League or the Europa League. These desired cups are the key to success and acclaim, which is why every club, regardless of how big or small, strives to win them. However, in addition to the joy that comes with winning these cups, there is also the added strain of being able to compete in the subsequent edition. Does the winner of the Champions League qualify for the next Champions League automatically? The answer to this question is a resounding yes.
The winner of the Champions League qualifies for the following year: the rule
It is true that the champion of the Champions League is granted automatic entry into the next season’s competition. This ensures that the squad will not be required to compete in any of the qualifying rounds for the Champions League and will instead advance directly to the group stage. Having said that, there are certain exceptions to this rule. If the champion team has previously qualified for the Champions League through their ranking in their league, they will not be granted automatic entry into the subsequent competition if they win that competition.
Let’s take the example of a German team winning the Champions League without being among the top four teams in the standings. In this case, Germany will have five teams qualified for the Champions League in the next edition. However, if a German team wins the Champions League and is already among the top four teams in the standings, the fifth spot will go to the team that finishes fifth in the league. In other words, the winning team does not “free up” a spot for another team.
Whoever wins the Europa League qualifies for the next Champions League
In the Europa League, the rule is the same as it was in the Champions League. The champion of the Europa League will be granted automatic qualification for the next season’s Champions League competition. This is a fantastic opportunity for teams that are not placed very well in the general classification of their respective leagues to snag a pass for the Champions League. For example, Juventus, who are presently competing in the quarterfinals of the Europa League, may not end up being one of the top four clubs in the Serie A table, but they still have a chance to qualify for the Champions League if they win the Europa League.
A team wins the Champions League or Europa League but is relegated: how does it work?
But what happens if a team that wins the Champions League or the Europa League is relegated? In such a scenario, the team will still gain access to the next edition of the Champions League, regardless of their league placement. This rule ensures that the winners of these cups are not punished for their league performance and are given the opportunity to defend their title the following season.
In conclusion, the winners of the Champions League and the Europa League both qualify for the next edition of the Champions League. However, this rule only applies if the winning team has not already qualified for the competition through their league placement. In such cases, the extra spot does not “free up” for another team. The thrill of winning these cups is undeniable, and with the added incentive of automatic qualification for the next edition of the Champions League, teams will undoubtedly give it their all to achieve their goals.