Europa League Champions: The Teams That Have Dominated the Tournament

Europa League Winners | GSB

Europa League Champions: The Teams That Have Dominated  the Tournament

The Europa League, a prestigious European football competition, has seen many epic teams etch their names in history. However, which clubs have reigned supreme? Let’s delve into the ultimate ranking of Europa League (formerly UEFA Cup) champions!


Sevilla: The Undisputed Kings

Seville (7 titles) reigns supreme as the Europa League’s most successful club. Their era began in the mid-2000s, and they went on to win a historic three-in-a-row from 2014 to 2016. Their recent victory over Roma in the 2023 final cemented their status as legends.


European Elite: Teams with Multiple Titles

Beyond Sevilla, several European powerhouses boast multiple titles:

  • Inter Milan (3 titles): The Italian giants have claimed three  trophies, showcasing their strength on the continental stage.
  • Liverpool (3 titles): The English club’s rich European history includes three titles, a testament to their attacking prowess.
  • Juventus (3 titles): One of Italy’s most decorated clubs, Juventus boasts three titles, solidifying their position among Europe’s elite.
  • Atletico Madrid (3 titles): The Spanish side’s defensive resilience has powered them to three triumphs.


Other Notable Champions

Additionally, other football clubs have gotten their names inscribed on this trophy:

  • Borussia Mönchengladbach (2 titles)
  • Tottenham Hotspur (2 titles)
  • Feyenoord (2 titles)
  • Real Madrid (2 titles)
  • Parma: (2 titles)
  • Porto: (2 titles)
  • Chelsea: (2 titles)
  • Eintracht Frankfurt: (2 titles
  • Anderlecht, Ajax, Manchester United, PSV, Ipswich Town, Bayer Leverkusen, Naples, Bayern Munich, Schalke 04, Galatasaray, Valencia, CSKA Moscow, Zenit St. Petersburg, Shakhtar, and Villarreal. (1 title)


The Europa League: A Stepping Stone to Glory

Europa League offers clubs an opportunity to showcase themselves as well as competing for European glory. It has until now acted as a ladder for young newcomers and another shot at established ones wishing to add another prestigious trophy into their cabinet.