Wimbledon Tennis Championships: Ultimate guide


Wimbledon is a competition that takes place in London and is one of the most prestigious competitions in the world. The tournament, held in late June and early July, is one of the four annual “Grand Slam” tennis events—along with the Australian, French, and U.S. Opens—and is the only one still played on natural grass.

The Wimbledon tournament has been played for over 150 years, with the first game being played on July 10th 1877. It’s not clear when Wimbledon became such a popular and prestigious competition but it’s certain that it grew to such heights while still maintaining its prestige. This popularity is due to both its cultural significance as well as its high level of difficulty which appeals to both spectators and players alike.

In 1920, Suzanne Lenglen from France became the first female player to win three Wimbledon titles (singles and doubles) in one year. In 1937, American Don Bach became the first person to copy Lenglen and won three Wimbledon titles within a year. This feat was repeated again 12 months later.

Until 1968, when the Open was introduced, the Wimbledon Championship was initially played by amateurs. In 1968, Rod Laver of Australia and Billie Jean King of the United States won individual competitions.

In 1980, Björn Borg won the men’s individual championship for a fifth consecutive year. For one year in a row, Martina Navratilova (Martina Navratilova) quickly improved her performance, winning six consecutive women’s championships between 1982-87, which also broke Langlen’s record (1919 -23).

In 1990, Navratilova raised her ninth personal title, breaking the record set by Helen Wills. Players who made Wimbledon history include American legend Pete Sampras, who won his seventh Wimbledon championship in 2000, and Roger Federer, whose equalized Borg’s winning streak with his fifth consecutive championship title in 2007, after which he broke Sampras’ record by winning the eighth Wimbledon. title.

The Wimbledon Championships are held over two weeks in late June and early July, with four events being played each year. The most prestigious event is the Gentlemen’s Singles Championship which has been played since 1877. Wimbledon is known for its fast-moving play which can produce some of the best tennis of all time – Bjorn Borg, John McEnroe, Pete Sampras, Rafael Nadal and David Ferrer are just some of the players who have played at Wimbledon throughout its history.

Wimbledon’s popularity has been attributed to its location, history, prestige and size of prize money. The tournament is always attended by royalty, as members of the British royal family are traditionally present at Wimbledon as part of their public duties.

This competition has changed drastically over the decades, with many different changes to its format and rules. The most significant change was when Wimbledon became the first Grand Slam to allow professionals to compete in 1968. Here are a few of these other changes that have taken place over time:

  • In 1884, when women were first allowed to enter the tournament as amateurs, they had to play on different courts from men until 1927
  • In 1922, umpires were permitted to use instant replay
  • In 1990, Wimbledon became one of four Grand Slams that hold both men

2021 Wimbledon

Two years later, the annual Grand Slam returns. On April 1, 2020, when the All England Club announced the cancellation of the next tournament due to the coronavirus pandemic, the tennis world was shocked. However, in 2021, Wimbledon will compete Superstars everywhere fight for glory together.

When is the 2021 Wimbledon tennis championships going to take place?

The 2021 Wimbledon tennis championships will be played between June 28 and July 11, 2021.

Play is provisionally scheduled to start on the outside courts at 11:00 a.m. local and on Centre Court and No.1 Courts at 1:00 p.m., apart from Championship Weekend when play will begin on Centre Court at 2:00 p.m.

Where is the 2021 Wimbledon tennis championships taking place?

The 2021 Wimbledon tennis championships at the All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club in London, England.

Who are the favourites?

The men’s singles top seeds at the 2021 Wimbledon tennis championships are: Novak Djokovic (1), Daniil Medvedev (2), Stefanos Tsitsipas (3), Dominic Thiem (4), Alexander Zverev (5), Andrey Rublev (6), Roger Federer (7), Matteo Berrettini (8), Roberto Bautista Agut (9), Diego Schwartzman (10)

The women’s singles top seeds at the 2021 Wimbledon tennis championships are: Ashleigh Barty (1), Aryna Sabalenka (2), Elina Svitolina (3), Sofia Kenin (4), Bianca Andreescu (5), Serena Williams (6), Iga Swiatek (7), Karolina Pliskova (8), Belinda Bencic (9), Petra Kvitova (10)

Can fans attend Wimbledon 2021?

Wimbledon stadium has 14,947 seats. However, the stadium will not be filled to full capacity. Wimbledon will be staged in front of a minimum 50% capacity crowd across the grounds until the singles final will be played with a full crowd of 15,000 in attendance on Centre Court.

Trophies and prize money

Following the completion of the five major competitions the winners are presented with the traditional Wimbledon trophies. Having had to replace both the Field Cup in 1883 and the Challenge Cup in 1886, the All England Club decided that future trophies should no longer become property of the Championship winners, who would instead receive a replica of the trophy whilst the originals were housed in the Wimbledon museum.

The total prize money for The Championships in 2021 will be £35,016,000. The singles champion will win £1,700,000, which is approximately $2.4 million.

Winner: £1,700,000 / 2000 points

Finalist: £900,000 / 1300 points

Semifinalist: £465,000 / 780 points

Quarterfinalist: £300,000 / 430 points

Fourth Round: £181,000 / 240 points

Third Round: £115,0000 / 130 points

Second Round: £75,000 / 70 points

First Round: £48,000 / 10 points


Did you know?

  • The well-known get dressed code changed into made reliable in 1963, dictating that gamers have to get dressed “predominantly in white.” It changed into upgraded to “nearly completely in white” in 1995. A smart get dressed code applies additionally to spectators in Centre Court’s Royal Box.
  • The tournament puts 2,200 catering staff to work, making Wimbledon the largest single annual sports catering operation in Europe.
  • In 2017, spectators consumed 33,000kg of English strawberries, 10,000 litres of fresh cream, 17,000 portions of fish and chips and 29,000 bottles of Champagne.
  • The fastest serve ever recorded was the American player Taylor Dent’s 148mph effort in 2010. Venus Williams holds the record for women; she belted a ball at 129mph in 2008.
  • King George VI is the only member of the royal family to have competed, during Wimbledon’s 50th jubilee year in 1926. Thirty years old and not yet king, he played in the Gentlemen’s Doubles, but didn’t make it past the first round.
  • At the 2010 Wimbledon Championships, John Isner and Nicholas Mahut competed in a first round match that would go on to become the longest match ever played in a Tennis Open. The match took place over 3 days and took 183 games to complete. Both players surpassed the previous record for number of aces in a single game during the match, which Isner eventually won.