When Did Ferrari Last Claim a Formula 1 Championship?

The Reds are always among the protagonists of Formula 1, and especially now they are trying to get competitive again. With Leclerc and Sainz, they dream big, but in recent years, Ferrari has seen other teams triumph. As a result, when was the last time Ferrari won the World Championship? We have to go back several years… Below is our insight.

The last success came more than 10 years ago.

Whether La Rossa wins or loses, the fans’ minds often go back to the last World Championship won by Ferrari, a success that now arrived more than 15 years ago, in 2007, to be precise. That year, Kimi Raikkonen and Felipe Massa sat in the single-seater with the Finn, who was in his first year with the Maranello team. It was a particular year, which was decided only at the last Grand Prix, where three riders were competing for the World Championship. A very young Lewis Hamilton arrived at the Brazilian GP with 4 points ahead of Fernando Alonso and 7 over “Iceman”. It was a thrilling race for the Ferrari fans, who saw the two Ferraris commanding the first two positions at the first corner.

Hamilton’s race started to go downhill on the first lap. He was surprised when Raikkonen passed him in the first few meters of the Grand Prix and tried to close in on Alonso, which caused him to go off the track and end up in tenth place. After regaining some positions, a problem with the gearbox put him in even more trouble, and he had to settle for seventh place. Meanwhile, the race continued further ahead, with the two Ferraris still in the lead and the Spanish McLaren driver chasing in third position. At the moment of the second pit stop for Felipe Massa came the decisive moment, which wrote a page in the history of the Reds and Formula 1: Raikkonen managed to overtake the Brazilian, who was racing on his home circuit, crossing the finish line first and triumphing in what is still today the last World Championship won by Ferrari. The Icelandic finished first in the drivers’ standings with 110 points, one more than the 109 of Alonso and Hamilton. The constructors’ title was also brought to Maranello.

As regards, however, the last success in the constructors’ championship of the Reds, we have to go back to the following year. In fact, Kimi Raikkonen and Felipe Massa’s 172 points helped Ferrari win the championship in 2008. The Brazilian driver also came close to winning the drivers’ championship but lost by just one point. In front of him, he saw Lewis Hamilton rise to the top of the world, who conquered the first of his seven world titles that year.


How many World Cups has Ferrari won? Other successes

In the history of Formula 1, the successes of the Reds have been many, but exactly how many World Cups has Ferrari won? The answer is 15, of which the last one was in 2007 with the Icelandic driver Kimi Raikkonen. Of these great successes, those won by Niki Lauda (1975, 1977) and Michael Schumacher (2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004) are unforgettable. Their main rivalries, respectively with James Hunt and Mika Hakkinen, suggest today’s rivalry between Leclerc and Verstappen. The German especially wrote very important pages in the history of the Ferrari, leading it to dominate for five years in a row together with his partner Rubens Barrichello, with whom he always shared the victory of the constructors’ title. In his career, Michael Schumacher won two more World Cups with Benetton, for a total of seven. A historic career topped off by 91 Grand Prix victories, 155 podiums, 68 pole positions, and the 77 fastest laps.

The names of the other drivers who were crowned world champions in a Ferrari must also be added to the Ferrari golden register: Alberto Ascari (1952, 1953), Juan Manuel Fangio (1956), Mike Hawthorn (1958), Phil Hill (1961), John Surtees (1964), and Jody Scheckter (1979). Various champions, many successes, and goals achieved in first place, always with the Cavallino.